June 09, 1999 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 30th annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Wednesday June 9 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include the legendary singer songwriters Bobby Darin, Peggy Lee and Bruce Springsteen, as well as luminary stage composer Sir Tim Rice. Special Award recipients include Stephen Sondheim (the Jonny Mercer Award), Bill Lowery (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Kenny Rogers (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award), Natalie Cole (the Hitmaker Award), Robert Mondavi (the Patron of the Arts Award) and "Fly Me to the Moon" by Bart Howard (Towering Song Award).

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Bruce Springsteen

Tim Rice

Peggy Lee

Bobby Darin

Johnny Mercer Award
Stephen Sondheim

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Bill Lowery

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Kenny Rogers

Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award
Natalie Cole

Patron of the Arts Award
Robert Mondavi

Towering Song
“Fly Me To The Moon”