June 10, 1997 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 28th annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Tuesday June 10 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include Joni Mitchell, Phil Spector, Harlan Howard, Jimmy Kennedy and Ernesto Lecuona. Special Award recipients include Alan and Marily Bergman (the Jonny Mercer Award), Gene Goodman (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Vic Damone (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award), Dr. Samuel LeFrak (the Patron of the Arts Award) and "How High the Moon" by Nancy Hamilton & Morgan Lewis (Towering Song Award). Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Jimmy Kennedy

Ernesto Lecuona

Joni Mitchell

Harlan Howard

Phil Spector

Johnny Mercer Award
Alan & Marilyn Bergman

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Gene Goodman

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Vic Damone

Patron of the Arts Award
Dr. Samuel LeFrak

Towering Song
“How High The Moon”

Board of Directors Award
Thomas A. Dorsey