May 31, 1995 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 26th annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Wednesday May 31 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber, Kenneth Gamble, Bob Gaudio, Leon Huff and Max Steiner. Special Award recipients include Cy Coleman (the Jonny Mercer Award), Al Gallico (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award), Michael Bolton (the Hitmaker Award), Theodore J. Forstmann (the Patron of the Arts Award) and "As Time Goes By" by Herman Hupfeld (Towering Song Award). Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Max Steiner

Bob Crewe

Bob Gaudio

Kenneth Gamble

Leon Huff

Johnny Mercer Award
Cy Coleman

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Al Gallico

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme

Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award
Michael Bolton

Patron of the Arts Award
Theodore J. Forstmann

Towering Song
“As Time Goes By”