June 02, 1993 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 24th annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Wednesday June 2 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include rock legends Mick Jagger and Keith Richards of the Rolling Stones, as well as Paul Anka, Bert Kaempfert and Herb Rehbein. Special Award recipients include Jule Styne (the Jonny Mercer Award), Berry Gordy (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Ray Charles (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award) and Michel Roux (the Patron of the Arts Award). Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Bert Kaempfert

Paul Anka

Keith Richards

Mick Jagger

Johnny Mercer Award
Jule Styne

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Berry Gordy

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Ray Charles

Patron of the Arts Award
Michel Roux