May 27, 1992 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 23rd annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Wednesday May 27 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include songwriting partners Sir Elton John and Bernie Taupin, the prolific and profoundly successful Billy Joel, as well as Jerome "Doc" Pomus, Mort Shuman and Linda Creed. Special Award recipients include Burton Lane (the Jonny Mercer Award), Bonnie Bourne (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Nat King Cole (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award), Jonathan Tisch (the Patron of the Arts Award) and Edward P. Murphy (the Board of Directors Award). Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Linda Creed

Bernie Taupin

Elton John

Billy Joel

Mort Shuman

Jerome “Doc” Pomus

Johnny Mercer Award
Burton Lane

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Bonnie Bourne

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Nat King Cole

Patron of the Arts Award
Jonathan Tisch

Board of Directors Award
Edward P. Murphy